Boise State running back Jay Ajayi has been named a finalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, the award’s committee announced Thursday afternoon.

Ajayi, from Plano, Texas, is joined among the finalists by quarterbacks J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Trevone Boykin (TCU), Bryce Petty (Baylor), and running back Samaje Perine (Oklahoma). The five finalists will be brought to Tyler, Texas for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet, scheduled for Jan. 14, 2015.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is in it's second year, and is given to the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity.