Which Mountain West Team had the most players on the list?    The Mountain West Conference announced its preseason all conference team from the Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas, Nevada.  The preseason Mountain West Offensive Player of the year was Colorado State Receiver Rashard Higgins.

Higgins, a junior, was a 2014 consensus first-team All-American after leading the country with 1,750 receiving yards and 17 touchdown receptions. The native of Dallas, Texas, is one of three players nationally to be named to the 2015 Maxwell Award Watch List, Biletnikoff Award Pre-Season Watch List and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List. He was one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award in 2014.

Utah State Linebacker Kyler Fackrell was the conference’s pick for Defensive Player of the Year.  Fackrell is returning to the Aggies’ starting lineup after missing all but one quarter of the 2014 season following a knee injury suffered in Utah State’s season-opening game at Tennessee. In 2013, Fackrell was a 2013 All-MW second-team honoree. He was third on Utah State in tackles with 82, while his 13 tackles for loss (minus-43 yards) led the team. Fackrell recorded five sacks, forced two fumbles and came away with one interception in 2013.

The Special Teams Player of the year was San Diego State Place Kicker Donny Hageman.   Last year, Hageman converted 20-of-25 field goal attempts and was a perfect 37-for-37 on PATs in 2014. Hageman’s 80 percent accuracy on field goal kicks ranked second in the MW and tied for 30th in the FBS. He also averaged 62.7 yards per kickoff on 19 attempts (1,192 yards) with five touchbacks. From Sept. 6-Oct. 18, made eight straight field goals. His 97 points in 2014 ranked second on the team.

Here’s the rest of the MW’s Preseason All Conference Picks.


QB       Chuckie Keeton             Sr.        Utah State

WR       Rashard Higgins*          Jr.        Colorado State

WR       Devonte Boyd**            So.       UNLV

RB        Donnel Pumphrey*        Jr.        San Diego State

RB        Marteze Waller**            Sr.        Fresno State

OL        Marcus Henry*               Sr.        Boise State

OL        Rees Odhiambo**          Sr.        Boise State

OL        Alex Fifita                     Sr.        Fresno State

OL        Ben Clarke                    Sr.        Hawaiʻi

OL        Pearce Slater                Sr.        San Diego State

TE        Steven Walker*              Sr.        Colorado State


DL        Alex Hansen**               Sr.        Air Force

DL        Kamalei Correa*            Jr.        Boise State

DL        Ian Seau**                     Sr.        Nevada

DL        Eddie Yarbrough*          Sr.        Wyoming

LB        Tanner Vallejo**             Jr.        Boise State

LB        Kyler Fackrell                Sr.        Utah State

LB        Nick Vigil*