Boise State running back Jay Ajayi has been named one of 12 Players to Watch in 2014 by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, the organization announced recently.
Ajayi, a redshirt junior in 2014, will be honored at the 59th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards Banquet at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio, Feb. 8.
Other Players to Watch in attendance will include Ohio State’s Joey Bosa, East Carolina’s Shane Carden and Justin Hardy and BYU’s Taysom Hill.

The Touchdown Club of Columbus will also honor Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Dave Robinson, 2013 Sammy Baugh Award recipient Derek Carr and Chic Harley Award winner Jordan Lynch, in addition to a number of other local and national award recipients.

Ajayi, a first-team All-Mountain West selection in 2013, rushed for 1,425 yards last season, the fourth-most in a single season all-time at Boise State and the 15th-most in the Football Bowl Subdivision. His 18 touchdowns last season rank third on the Broncos’ all-time single-season list and ranked tied for eighth-nationally.
The touchdown total also ranked third-nationally amongst underclassmen, and his rushing total ranked fourth amongst underclassmen.

Other Broncos previously named Players to Watch by the Touchdown Club of Columbus include Kellen Moore and Jeremy Avery. Moore was also twice named the nation’s top quarterback by the organization, and the award was ultimately named in his honor.